In front of a packed room at the German House, Professor Paul Bucherer-Dietschi unveiled the five “towers of knowledge” exhibition that he has worked tirelessly on for the past two years. This historically rich and informative exhibit of photographs and illustrations of Afghanistan from 1747 to 1973 was well-received by the many attendees.
The exhibition was hosted by the Permanent Mission of Germany to the United Nations and co sponsored by the Permanent Missions of Afghanistan, Switzerland, and Liechtenstein. H.E. Ambassador Peter Wittig of Germany introduced the event, followed by H.E. Ambassador Tanin of Afghanistan, H.E. Ambassador Seger of Switzerland, and H.E. Ambassador Wenaweser of Liechtenstein.
The exhibition consisted of five different displays, each summarizing a particular part of Afghan history. The displays are constructed in the shape of five wooden towers, called the “Towers of Knowledge,” each showing about 60-80 photographs. Along with the photos, a brief text of comments on historical milestones is presented in English, German and Dari and Pashto.
The exhibitions aim is to enrich the youth with the country’s cultural roots and thus evoke a sense of pride in national identity. This exhibition helps to restore the education of Afghanistan’s rich history in the future generations. As H.E. Ambassador Tanin, Permanent Representative of Afghanistan said in his opening remarks, “These pictures help the new generation and perhaps all, not only to know our history, but to be inspired by it.”
This exhibit was set up by the Swiss Afghanistan Institute in close cooperation with the Afghan Ministry of Education to help Afghan people become more familiar with their own country’s modern history. The exhibit currently has 68 copies being shown throughout Afghanistan, two copies in each of the 34 provinces. Teachers were trained in Kabul to handle the towers and provide additional historical background when posed with questions from Afghan citizens.
This exhibition will be on display at the German House from November 21, 2011 – January 10th 2012 for the public to view and enjoy.